Virtual Sit-and-Share Topic 30-03-2023

Your assumptions are your windows on the world. Scrub them off every once in a while or the light won’t come in.

~ Alan Alda [source: 62nd Commencement Address for Connecticut College in New London, Connecticut – 1980]

THURSDAY, MARCH 30, 2023

No registration is required. The meeting link is –

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/4537777699

…alternatively, you can connect manually, with Zoom meeting ID 453 777 7699 and passcode ‘5ps‘.

The topic is for contemplation, reflection and sharing at the online virtual ‘Sit-and-Share’ meditation meeting via Zoom from:

8:45 am HST (eg Honolulu, Hawaii)
11:45 am PST (eg San Francisco/Vancouver)
12:45 pm MST (eg Denver)
1:45 pm CST (eg Chicago)
2:45 pm EST (eg New York/Tampa)
7:45 pm GMT (eg Dublin/London)
8:45 pm CET (eg France)
8:45 pm CAT (eg Botswana)
9:45 pm EAT (eg Kenya)
Friday
05:45 am AEDT (eg Sydney)
07:45 am NZDT (eg Auckland)

Ready for a prompt start at the top of the hour. This meeting’s topic was chosen by Cathryn, who will be our ‘Sit-and-Share’ host.

All welcome.

Image – ‘Upstairs Meditation Room – The Hey’Wat Thamkrabok Detox and Treatment Centre, Phraputthabat, SaraBuri, Thailand – March 2013


Virtual Sit-and-Share Topic 16-03-2023

The art of life is to stay wide open and be vulnerable, yet at the same time to sit with the mystery and the awe and with the unbearable pain – to just be with it all.

~ Ram Dass [source: It’s All Perfect]

THURSDAY, MARCH 16, 2023

No registration is required. The meeting link is –

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/4537777699

…alternatively, you can connect manually, with Zoom meeting ID 453 777 7699 and passcode ‘5ps‘.

The topic is for contemplation, reflection and sharing at the online virtual ‘Sit-and-Share’ meditation meeting via Zoom from:

9:45 am HST (eg Honolulu, Hawaii)
11:45 am PST (eg San Francisco/Vancouver)
12:45 pm MST (eg Denver)
1:45 pm CST (eg Chicago)
2:45 pm EST (eg New York/Tampa)
7:45 pm GMT (eg Dublin/London)
8:45 pm CET (eg France)
9:45 pm CAT (eg Botswana)
10:45 pm EAT (eg Kenya)
Friday
06:45 am AEDT (eg Sydney)
08:45 am NZDT (eg Auckland)

Ready for a prompt start at the top of the hour. This meeting’s topic was chosen by Cathryn, who will be our ‘Sit-and-Share’ host.

All welcome.

Image – ‘Marsh Shoreline’ – Lough Derg, Portumna, County Galway, Ireland – April 2020


Virtual Sit-and-Share Topic 27-02-2023

The more comfortable you become in your own skin, the less you need to manufacture the world around you for comfort.

~ Cory Muscara [source: Twitter Post November 21, 2022]

MONDAY, FEBRUARY 27, 2023

No registration is required. The meeting link is –

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/4537777699

…alternatively, you can connect manually, with Zoom meeting ID 453 777 7699 and passcode ‘5ps‘.

The topic is for contemplation, reflection and sharing at the online virtual ‘Sit-and-Share’ meditation meeting via Zoom from:

9:45 am HST (eg Honolulu, Hawaii)
11:45 am PST (eg San Francisco/Vancouver)
12:45 pm MST (eg Denver)
1:45 pm CST (eg Chicago)
2:45 pm EST (eg New York/Tampa)
7:45 pm GMT (eg Dublin/London)
8:45 pm CET (eg France)
9:45 pm CAT (eg Botswana)
10:45 pm EAT (eg Kenya)
Tuesday
06:45 am AEDT (eg Sydney)
08:45 am NZDT (eg Auckland)

Ready for a prompt start at the top of the hour. This meeting’s topic was chosen by Nicole, who will be our ‘Sit-and-Share’ host.

All welcome.

Image – ‘Rooftop in Fes’ – Riad Sidrat Fes, Morocco – January 2023


Virtual Sit-and-Share Topic 20-02-2023

An interesting thing happens when you start to like yourself. You no longer need all the things you thought you needed to be happy.

~ Cory Muscara [source: Twitter Post November 21, 2022]

MONDAY, FEBRUARY 20, 2023

No registration is required. The meeting link is –

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/4537777699

…alternatively, you can connect manually, with Zoom meeting ID 453 777 7699 and passcode ‘5ps‘.

The topic is for contemplation, reflection and sharing at the online virtual ‘Sit-and-Share’ meditation meeting via Zoom from:

9:45 am HST (eg Honolulu, Hawaii)
11:45 am PST (eg San Francisco/Vancouver)
12:45 pm MST (eg Denver)
1:45 pm CST (eg Chicago)
2:45 pm EST (eg New York/Tampa)
7:45 pm GMT (eg Dublin/London)
8:45 pm CET (eg France)
9:45 pm CAT (eg Botswana)
10:45 pm EAT (eg Kenya)
Tuesday
06:45 am AEDT (eg Sydney)
08:45 am NZDT (eg Auckland)

Ready for a prompt start at the top of the hour. This meeting’s topic was chosen by Nicole, who will be our ‘Sit-and-Share’ host.

All welcome.

Image – ‘Dunnes at Jetland’ – Dunnes Store, Jetland Shopping Centre, Limerick, Ireland – March 2018


BRN – Virtual Sit-and-Share Topic 15/16-Feb-2023

#12 Drive All Blames Into One.
Pema Chödrön Commentary: Everyone is looking for someone to blame and therefore aggression and neurosis keep expanding. Instead, pause and look at what’s happening with you.

~ Train Your Mind, Slogan 12
Atisha’s 59 Lojong Slogans with commentary by Acharya Judy Lief

~ Lojong Slogans Article – Wikipedia

~ Pema Chödrön [source: Pema Chödrön’s Compassion Cards: Teachings for Awakening the Heart in Everyday Life]]

Buddhist Recovery Network – Midweek Recovery Meeting
Sit-and-Share: 15-16 February 2023

No registration is required. The meeting link is –

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81326534832

…alternatively, you can connect manually, with Zoom meeting ID 813 2653 4832 and passcode ‘501497‘.

The topic is for contemplation, reflection and sharing at the online virtual ‘Sit-and-Share’ meditation meeting via Zoom at…

Wednesday 3:30 pm HST (eg Honolulu, Hawaii)
Wednesday 5:30 pm PST (eg San Francisco/Vancouver)
Wednesday 6:30 pm MST (eg Denver)
Wednesday 7:30 pm CST (eg Chicago)
Wednesday 8:30 pm EST (eg New York/Tampa)
Thursday 08:30 am ICT (eg Bangkok)
Thursday 12:30 pm AEDT (eg Sydney)
Thursday 3:30 pm NZDT (eg Auckland)

This meeting’s topic was chosen by Gary, who will be our ‘Sit-and-Share’ host.

All welcome.


Virtual Sit-and-Share Topic 13-02-2023

The biggest life hack is to become your own best friend. Everything is easier when you do.

~ Cory Muscara [source: Twitter Post November 21, 2022]

MONDAY, FEBRUARY 13, 2023

No registration is required. The meeting link is –

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/4537777699

…alternatively, you can connect manually, with Zoom meeting ID 453 777 7699 and passcode ‘5ps‘.

The topic is for contemplation, reflection and sharing at the online virtual ‘Sit-and-Share’ meditation meeting via Zoom from:

9:45 am HST (eg Honolulu, Hawaii)
11:45 am PST (eg San Francisco/Vancouver)
12:45 pm MST (eg Denver)
1:45 pm CST (eg Chicago)
2:45 pm EST (eg New York/Tampa)
7:45 pm GMT (eg Dublin/London)
8:45 pm CET (eg France)
9:45 pm CAT (eg Botswana)
10:45 pm EAT (eg Kenya)
Tuesday
06:45 am AEDT (eg Sydney)
08:45 am NZDT (eg Auckland)

Ready for a prompt start at the top of the hour. This meeting’s topic was chosen by Nicole, who will be our ‘Sit-and-Share’ host.

All welcome.


Virtual Sit-and-Share Topic 12-02-2023

When you go out into the woods, and you look at trees, you see all these different trees. And some of them are bent, and some of them are straight, and some of them are evergreens, and some of them are whatever. And you look at the tree and you allow it. You see why it is the way it is. You sort of understand that it didn’t get enough light, and so it turned that way. And you don’t get all emotional about it. You just allow it. You appreciate the tree.

The minute you get near humans, you lose all that. And you are constantly saying ‘You are too this, or I’m too this.’ That judgement mind comes in. And so I practice turning people into trees. Which means appreciating them just the way they are.

~ Ram Dass [source: Ram Dass on Self-Judgement]

SUNDAY, FEBRUARY 12, 2023

No registration is required. The meeting link is –

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/4537777699

…alternatively, you can connect manually, with Zoom meeting ID 453 777 7699 and passcode ‘5ps‘.

The above topic is for contemplation, reflection and sharing at the online virtual ‘Sit-and-Share’ meditation meeting via Zoom from:

7:45 am HST (eg Honolulu, Hawaii)
9:45 am PST (eg San Francisco/Vancouver)
10:45 am MST (eg Denver)
11:45 am CST (eg Chicago)
12:45 pm EST (eg New York/Tampa)
5:45 pm GMT (eg Dublin/London)
6:45 pm CET (eg France)
7:45 pm CAT (eg Botswana)
8:45 pm EAT (eg Kenya)
Monday
04:45 am AEDT (eg Sydney)
06:45 am NZDT (eg Auckland)

Ready for a prompt start at the top of the hour. This meeting’s topic was chosen by Vince, who will be our ‘Sit-and-Share’ host.

All welcome.

Image – ‘Trees’ – Portumna Forest Park, County Galway, Ireland – November 2021


Virtual Sit-and-Share Topic 09-02-2023

Many of us will spend our entire lives trying to slog through the shame swampland to get to a place where we can give ourselves permission to both be imperfect and to believe we are enough.

~ Brené Brown [source: Rising Strong: The Reckoning. The Rumble. The Revolution.]

THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 09, 2023

No registration is required. The meeting link is –

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/4537777699

…alternatively, you can connect manually, with Zoom meeting ID 453 777 7699 and passcode ‘5ps‘.

The topic is for contemplation, reflection and sharing at the online virtual ‘Sit-and-Share’ meditation meeting via Zoom from:

9:45 am HST (eg Honolulu, Hawaii)
11:45 am PST (eg San Francisco/Vancouver)
12:45 pm MST (eg Denver)
1:45 pm CST (eg Chicago)
2:45 pm EST (eg New York/Tampa)
7:45 pm GMT (eg Dublin/London)
8:45 pm CET (eg France)
9:45 pm CAT (eg Botswana)
10:45 pm EAT (eg Kenya)
Friday
06:45 am AEDT (eg Sydney)
08:45 am NZDT (eg Auckland)

Ready for a prompt start at the top of the hour. This meeting’s topic was chosen by Cathryn, who will be our ‘Sit-and-Share’ host.

All welcome.

Image – ‘Marsh Shoreline’ – Lough Derg, Portumna, County Galway, Ireland – April 2020


Virtual Sit-and-Share Topic 06-02-2023

Finding your true self is an act of love. Expressing it is an act of rebellion.

~ Cory Muscara [source: Twitter Post November 21, 2022]

MONDAY, FEBRUARY 06, 2023

No registration is required. The meeting link is –

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/4537777699

…alternatively, you can connect manually, with Zoom meeting ID 453 777 7699 and passcode ‘5ps‘.

The topic is for contemplation, reflection and sharing at the online virtual ‘Sit-and-Share’ meditation meeting via Zoom from:

9:45 am HST (eg Honolulu, Hawaii)
11:45 am PST (eg San Francisco/Vancouver)
12:45 pm MST (eg Denver)
1:45 pm CST (eg Chicago)
2:45 pm EST (eg New York/Tampa)
7:45 pm GMT (eg Dublin/London)
8:45 pm CET (eg France)
9:45 pm CAT (eg Botswana)
10:45 pm EAT (eg Kenya)
Tuesday
06:45 am AEDT (eg Sydney)
08:45 am NZDT (eg Auckland)

Ready for a prompt start at the top of the hour. This meeting’s topic was chosen by Nicole, who will be our ‘Sit-and-Share’ host.

All welcome.


Virtual Sit-and-Share Topic 05-02-2023

#10 Begin with yourself the sequence of giving and receiving.
Pema Chödrön Commentary: Whatever pain you feel, take it in, wishing for all beings to be free of it. Whatever pleasure you feel, send it out to others. In this way, our personal problems and delights become a stepping-stone for understanding the suffering and happiness of all beings.

~ Train Your Mind, Slogan 10
Atisha’s 59 Lojong Slogans with commentary by Acharya Judy Lief

~ Lojong Slogans Article – Wikipedia


~ Pema Chödrön [source: Pema Chödrön’s Compassion Cards: Teachings for Awakening the Heart in Everyday Life]

SUNDAY, FEBRUARY 05, 2023

No registration is required. The meeting link is –

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/4537777699

…alternatively, you can connect manually, with Zoom meeting ID 453 777 7699 and passcode ‘5ps‘.

The above topic is for contemplation, reflection and sharing at the online virtual ‘Sit-and-Share’ meditation meeting via Zoom from:

7:45 am HST (eg Honolulu, Hawaii)
9:45 am PST (eg San Francisco/Vancouver)
10:45 am MST (eg Denver)
11:45 am CST (eg Chicago)
12:45 pm EST (eg New York/Tampa)
5:45 pm GMT (eg Dublin/London)
6:45 pm CET (eg France)
7:45 pm CAT (eg Botswana)
8:45 pm EAT (eg Kenya)
Monday
04:45 am AEDT (eg Sydney)
06:45 am NZDT (eg Auckland)

Ready for a prompt start at the top of the hour. This meeting’s topic was chosen by Gary, who will be our ‘Sit-and-Share’ host.

All welcome.